Insulation

New Build Inspections

zednine

hi there

i am new to this web site so excuse me if this is a repost..

we have a 2 year old Wain home house,, and i am not going to bore you all with the dozens of faults with it,,,yet anyway.

my question is ,,,, do new houses have to by law/ building regs have to have cavity wall insulation??

wain home say they dont because the way they construct there houses they meet the 'U' value required by building regs...

can anyone confirm this for me

Paul

Tony

Administrator
Hi Zednine,

New homes have to comply with the buidling regulations and NHBC standards if applicable. The house could be in breach of both if it does not have cavity wall insulation. However, insulation can be provided in other ways to meet the standards and regulations.

The applicable building regulations are known as Part L.

The NHBC have an indirect test which states that the central heating system must be able to maintain a living room at 21c when the outside temperature is -1C.

New homes are supposed to have energy rating certificate but most don't.

I hope this helps

Tony

zednine

Hi Tony

thanks for the reply, i have been doing some research on this and it appears that the planning on this site may be 10 years old and if so people are saying it might not have been a requirment, even tho the houses are no more than 4 years old.

i have been in the buiding trade since i was 16 now 45 and as far as i can remember they have always put in cavity wall insulation, i just need some cast iron evidance, or facts..

The nhbc say the house complies with the regs, but i have my doubts!

Regards

Paul
PS monkeys could have built it better, oh and after 2 years i still dont have a bath panel

Tony

Administrator
Hi Paul,